Books on tape are the best

Both of my jobs after graduation have involved quite a bit of travel. After a while just listening to music during my commute gets boring. The mind needs to be fed, just as the body does. I’m sure many of you have experienced this even during your daily commute to and from work.

I love books on tape. I can be entertained, learn, and feel productive during these empty spaces of the day. I didn’t realize how much time I was spending just traveling until I started listening to these books. I was finishing an average of one book per week. Luckily my local libraries carry books on tape so I was saving money on that front. Yay taxes(not sarcastic)! If you’re interested in doing the same thing, sign up for a library card and an Overdrive account then download the Overdrive application onto your computer. Follow the instructions, then you’ll then be able to download the books onto your phone and listen to the digital file instead of an actual tape or CD. There’s quite a few ebooks that you can download to your Kindle app as well. I think the last time I actually visited the library was when I went to sign up for my card. In any case, here’s my list of books that I have recently read and recommend reading. I chose them based on what was available, what I’ve heard is good, and what I cross-referenced with Amazon ratings. Enjoy!

Non-fiction:
It Worked for Me – Colin Powell
Delivering Happiness – Tony Hsieh
Bossy Pants- Tina Fey
How the Hippies Saved Physics
Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me – Mindy Kaling
Art of War – Sun Tzu
Seriously…I’m Kidding – Ellen Degenerous (rambles a bit)
David and Goliath – Malcolm Gladwell
Outliers – Malcolm Gladwell
What the Dog Saw – Malcolm Gladwell
Heaven is for Real
Super Rich – Russell Simmons – about hip-hop, peace, and happiness
The Depression Cure – beating depression without drugs using science
Long Walk to Freedom – Nelson Mandela
Good to Great – Jim Collins
Built to Last – Jim Collins
How the Mighty Fall – Jim Collins
The Lean Startup
The Happiness Project
4 Hour Workweek
Who Says Elephants Can’t Dance – Louis Gerstner
As You Wish: Inconceivable Tales from the Making of the Princess Bride
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon

 

Fiction:
Crazy Rich Asians – I was hoping it was a how-to guide 🙂
Dare Me – Megan Abbott
Devil in the White City
Sin in the Second City
Leave a Reply

